cupcakes and all that jazz

Cupcakes…..I remember I walked 20-mins in NY in 2005 with some local friends who wanted to treat me to the popular Magnolia bakery. All I can say is that I was not blown away.

A few years since – and everyone is talking about cupcakes. In fact, in a time when Americans are struggling to communicate the value proposition of the “free” West, the cupcakes seem to have done the trick: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/23/dining/23cake.html?scp=1&sq=cupcakes&st=cse.

To be fair – I do like them and just yesterday bought some overpriced ones myself – $3 per piece after standing in a line! Then I realized what I like about them is the concept – simple, bite-sized cake that goes well with a latte and look cute. But the cake itself was dry and not that good. The icing is just cream-cheese and sugar, and if you want to have the cake without the frosting, it’s no fun.

But I don’t want to give up the idea of cupcakes just yet – they have some good things going for them. So I am seeking some good recipes for a rich moist cupcake. If you know of any please send them my way.

Leave a Reply

