Sense of Loss

(Apologies in advance for readers of non hi-tech environments. You might not know what I am talking about :))

We finally have a Program Manager in our development organization. In her absence all us product managers, used to do both product and program management for our respective releases. I am at the end of my first major product life-cycle. I have been on this project for about a year now. Normally I have had to manage more than one small project, this time I was managing only one large project. This singular focus was new to me, but frankly I was getting a bit tired.

In the absence of program manager, I had to keep an eye from small issues like – assigning bugs, identifying blockages to large issues like running the scrum meeting every day, managing the vendors and requesting additional resources. The creativity part of product management got 2-months at the start (if at all) and since then its been planning and execution.

I liked planning and execution – all my jobs have been very hands-on. It feels good to be able to get things done, and the more tactical and everyday they are, the more chances you get to feel good about yourself. But Haas is changing things for me. I want to move into more strategic projects. I want to be able to market my product better. But these tasks require large chunks of time, which I never got in the last 3 quarters or so. So well, I should appreciate if someone is joining me and taking over my every-day time sinks.

…and I am. Although I have had this strange feeling since yesterday…. I feel like I am losing my grip on the project at the last minute. I am anxious since I would not be the center of much information flow, might lose visibility and might not have to work with the whole team every day. There’s nothing wrong with it and it would finally give me an opportunity to focus on marketing the product. But it’s like leaving what you are doing well and seeking something else.

I guess its all a part of learning more….but I can’t help but feel a sense of loss. It had been my baby so far.

One thought on “Sense of Loss

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Sue.

Leave a Reply

