DMB

A few weeks back, I had the opportunity to go for a Dave Matthews Band concert at the Shoreline Amphitheater. I like them but its not my favorite group – because their songs merge into each other after a couple of songs. 30-mins of their album, and it’ll still be hard to distinguish the songs or find out a favorite.

One can argue the an inherent flaw in my assumption that the songs need to be finite, with proper boundaries after every few minutes. But I guess I am just used to being organized about my music.

But, guess what, the long jam session and a continuity in the music sounds very very good in a live performance. We were specially impressed by the drummer – who was totally in the zone the whole time. He would rather not be doing anything else at that time. It was also one of the most racially diverse band, I had seen. For the first time I realized why their sounds is so unique. I has a lot of blue-sy musicians, with some rock. It was awesome, and I highly recommend it if they are visiting your town. You could check them out here.

Leave a Reply

